Trouble setting up port forwarding for a dedicated game server

Web hosting discussion, programming, and shared and dedicated servers.
7 posts Page 1 of 1
by thehumanbrian » Fri Mar 26, 2021 2:32 pm
Hello party people,

I'm attempting to set up a dedicated server for a multiplayer game hosted on my PC. I've set up port forwarding, packet filters, and allocated my PC's IP on my BGW210 modem and whitelisted the game server through my windows firewall, but testing the open port through websites like canyouseeme.org results in the port coming back as closed or "connection refused."

Any ideas why that might be? This is my first time trying to set up port forwarding so it's entirely possible I eff'd up some part of the process.
by thehumanbrian » Thu Apr 01, 2021 9:50 am
If no one has any ideas, do you know a better place I might look for answers? I've tried calling Sonic customer support and they walked me through setup, but sent me here when that didn't work.
by briancw » Fri Apr 02, 2021 3:08 pm
Hello fellow Brian,

So, this is more or less unsupported and I cannot guarantee if the link I am sending will work, but it is to the place you want to be. That being said, https://portforward.com/arris/bgw210-700/ looks to get you where you need to be. Which game are you making a server for? I can see if I can suss out any specifics.

Are you using the AT&T router alone or do you have your own router connected behind the AT&T one?

Additionally, it is sometimes a weird thing about documentation that they like to say UDP or TCP, some of us how found success in some cases by opening the numbered ports on both UDP and TCP
Brian W
Construction Application Processor
Sonic
by ngufra » Mon Apr 05, 2021 10:08 am
To do this you would typically need the following steps:
-find out the mac address of the server you are using