Page 1 of 1

second phone line on ONT?

Posted: Wed May 15, 2019 1:44 pm
by bclayton
I have the Fiber service, which comes with a small Adtran ONT. The ONT has one phone (RJ11) and one Ethernet (RJ45) output. Is it possible to obtain a second phone line and have it appear on the unused pair of the RJ11 jack on the ONT?

Re: second phone line on ONT?

Posted: Wed May 15, 2019 4:54 pm
by dane
Our residential service includes one phone line, but our small business (or SOHO) service comes with two. It's also 2x1Gbps broadband, twice the capacity on that too. ;) Pricing is also about double the cost of residential service, $90/mo for the first year, then it goes up to $100/mo.

Because we see very few folks asking to migrate between these two products, there isn't an automated way to do so. It's basically a new service order deployed by an installer, who brings a different ONT which provides 2xRJ11 (voice) and 4xRJ45 (Ethernet), replacing the "1+1" unit you have today.

If you'd like to consider that or have additional questions, contact sales via one of the methods listed on the website at https://www.sonic.com/support

Re: second phone line on ONT?

Posted: Thu May 16, 2019 2:51 am
by bclayton
Thanks for the info, Dane. I thought it was a long-shot to hope for a second phone line on that ONT, but I thought I'd ask. We could use another line, but I'd rather pay an extra $10-$20 for it. I'm not sure I really *need* 2 Gbit/sec, though it'd be nice! What *would* entice me to spend more would be a static IP or two. Is that part of your SOHO deal?

Re: second phone line on ONT?

Posted: Thu May 16, 2019 10:16 am
by dane
bclayton wrote:
Thanks for the info, Dane. I thought it was a long-shot to hope for a second phone line on that ONT, but I thought I'd ask. We could use another line, but I'd rather pay an extra $10-$20 for it. I'm not sure I really *need* 2 Gbit/sec, though it'd be nice! What *would* entice me to spend more would be a static IP or two. Is that part of your SOHO deal?


No, afraid not, sorry!

Re: second phone line on ONT?

Posted: Fri Jun 21, 2019 10:54 am
by danielg4
bclayton wrote:
Thanks for the info, Dane. I thought it was a long-shot to hope for a second phone line on that ONT, but I thought I'd ask. We could use another line, but I'd rather pay an extra $10-$20 for it. I'm not sure I really *need* 2 Gbit/sec, though it'd be nice! What *would* entice me to spend more would be a static IP or two. Is that part of your SOHO deal?

Why not just get Sonic's copper service for that second line? It's about that much, after setup.

Re: second phone line on ONT?

Posted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 7:12 pm
by cdrayson
You could just get a third party VOIP service. They're pretty cheap these days.