Not receiving faxes

Advanced feature discussion, beta programs and unsupported "Labs" features.
5 posts Page 1 of 1
by dubinsky » Wed Aug 18, 2021 1:00 pm
I am new to efax and so far no one has been able to fax me. They get error messages. Outgoing faxes seem to go OK.
Question: is it essential that they dial 707? does there have to be a 1 behind it?
What else is different from the senders end about sending an efax??
Your replies previously seem to put the blame on the sender e.g. not waiting for a dial tone, etc.
Besides having to notify everyone that I have a new fax number after 28 years because of phone line issues in a new office, do I have to educate them on how to send me a fax?
Thanks, sorry but super frustrating and not very professional to not have fax capacity for 3 months
Gail Dubinsky M.D.
by ngufra » Wed Aug 18, 2021 3:49 pm
Hello.

It is not clear how you are trying to receive faxes.
Are you using the Sonic labs virtual fax line?
I received a fax on it yesterday.
It's a regular number so area code will be required or not like a phone number (e.g. in 510 area code, local number must be prefixed with area code because of the new overlapping 341 area code)
If you are using a regular fax machine on a ONT (Voip line) i believe it should also work flawlessly.

So please describe with more details what you use and what you are trying to achieve and we can help you better.
by dubinsky » Wed Aug 18, 2021 10:15 pm
I was assigned a "free " e-fax line as part of my Sonic fusion DSL. As I understand it, I send faxes by uploading a PDF of a document scanned from a remote copy/fax/scan machine up to my desktop, and it goes as an email to a fax line.
I understood that I was to receive faxes as an email with a PDF attachment. So far I received one test fax from my office machine tech guy, but a hospital was trying to send me something and only got error messages. no idea who else has not been able to reach me.
by ngufra » Thu Aug 19, 2021 9:21 am