New FTTH install in SF. 600 Mbps down / 800 Mbps up

Internet access discussion, including Fusion, IP Broadband, and Gigabit Fiber!
13 posts Page 1 of 2
by jiceman » Sat Dec 09, 2017 4:26 pm
I'm new to Sonic fiber and enjoying the improvement in speed. However, I see that it falls a bit short of a Gigabit. I've run speed tests on a few sites (including Sonic's own) and see that it varies from 450-700 Mbps download and a upload does a bit better. Here is one that I just ran.

http://sonic.speedtestcustom.com/result ... 5e0dadbac0

I am testing in an up to date Chrome browser running on an iMac running 10.12.6. I am wired to the SmartRG with Gigabit compatible cable (Cat 5e). I have not modified any of the settings on the SmartRG.

That bandwidth is enough for me as of now; put perhaps someday in the future, I will need more. What should we check to determine the limiting factor? Note that the measured speed does vary over time and within a test (download) it starts high, falls a bit and then recovers. I suppose my compute could be a limiting factor. Anything I should look for physically? Bends in the fiber cable, etc?

I suspect that this is the standard newbie question.
by steelgaze » Sat Dec 09, 2017 5:23 pm
How does it benchmark on the pace modem?

The SmartRG might not be able to handle the speeds despite it having gigabit ports.
by jiceman » Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:52 pm
I don't have a Pace modem. I was provided a Smart/RG -- was told the Pace was being phased out (at least for FTTH). In either case, don't need the modem part, only the router/wifi. Perhaps there is a way to test connecting directly tot he ONT. Is that simple to try?
by steelgaze » Sat Dec 09, 2017 9:24 pm
Interesting about the pace phase out.

If Smartrgs are being provided, you might just have to call support and see if they can see if anything is wrong on there end. You can definitely plug a computer directly to the ONT, just make sure the DHCP can pick up the IP.