FTTH in Danville, CA.

Internet access discussion, including Fusion, IP Broadband, and Gigabit Fiber!
12 posts Page 1 of 2
by TimeLord04 » Thu Apr 13, 2017 9:27 am
Danville is an East Bay city. The residents of Danville are supportive and WANT FTTH Gigabit Internet!

I speak for many Danville residents whom are tired of limited competition between Comcast XFINITY, and AT&T U-Verse. Unfortunately, there seems to be NO other competition in our area.

Sonic currently offers services run over AT&T backbone; but, this is limited to FTTN and AT&T seems to NOT be interested in upgrading the existing areas of Danville to FTTH.

Is Sonic investigating the East Bay area for growth potential, and expansion of FTTH for East Bay residents??? Danville residents are ready for Gigabit, and would drop AT&T and Comcast in a heartbeat if someone like Sonic would offer true FTTH solutions.

I'm a Shadow Hills HOA resident, and our AT&T VRAD sits at 1001 El Capitan Drive. How hard, really, is it to eliminate this VRAD, tie into the existing Fiber backbone, and expand to FTTH for Shadow Hills; or anywhere else that AT&T has Fiber in the streets already???

Residents of Danville stand ready to upgrade, just give us the word that Sonic is willing to meet us on delivery of Gigabit Internet.

Sincerely,

Scott Kuehner
IT Technician
aka: TimeLord04
by TimeLord04 » Thu Apr 13, 2017 3:50 pm
Please, anyone else in Danville care to comment or add a question??? Sonic currently ONLY offers services in Danville OVER the AT&T Fiber Backbone via FTTN, (or VRAD), and from the Node/VRAD is copper to the home(s). Sonic is quoting 50 Mb service over this existing framework. (AT&T ONLY quotes us up to 45 Mb; but, speedtest.net reflects my family's service hitting the 50 mark without HD Streams recording on our U-300 Service.)

Dane, is Sonic considering expansion in cities like Danville???

Scott
aka: TimeLord04
by GoneDude » Fri Apr 14, 2017 11:42 am