FTTH in Sunnyvale 94085?

Internet access discussion, including Fusion, IP Broadband, and Gigabit Fiber!
14 posts Page 1 of 2
by wdbrubaker » Wed Feb 22, 2017 5:15 pm
Hi-

AT&T has been laying fiber in the SNAIL neighborhood in 94085 for the past 4-6 months, and AT&T's website now reports that I can currently get 1Gbps fiber run to my house.

However, Sonic's customer service reps aren't showing it (only FTTN is available on their maps and via the member services upgrade tool). Someone down the street from me is reporting on Nextdoor that she's just had fiber run to her house (today), and has Sonic as her ISP. Are your service maps within 94085 (SNAIL neighborhood) actively being updated? When can I have you guys schedule a fiber installation?

Also, I'm kind of miffed that you guys didn't notify me that a FTTN upgrade was available for my address, because I've been chugging along with 5Mbps DSL for the last 3 years.

Thanks!

-Will
by parhelia » Wed Feb 22, 2017 7:14 pm
I'm in the same neighborhood, my Sonic FTTN install is tomorrow: see my post here: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=4375

Sonic doesn't (or can't) resell full Gigabit FTTH, but ATT does pull the fiber into the house.

FYI, this has actually been available for approximately 0 days, I was lead to believe I may be the first person getting setup in the neighborhood. There were some "engineering" issues that delayed it to this week from when I ordered a few weeks ago. I wouldn't blame Sonic for not letting you know its available -- their systems (and ATTs) have said its available for a few weeks, but apparently it wasnt actually ready until today.

Ill post another update in my thread tomorrow if you want some speed tests or other info.
by miken » Thu Feb 23, 2017 8:53 am