Page 1 of 1

static IP on fiber?

Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2021 10:43 am
by brieweb
ATT is pulling the fiber optic on the poles in my neighborhood in Sacramento and it is supposed to be available in a couple weeks, yet when I talk to the sales guys about getting fiber service, no static IP is available. I have static IP with my fusion service. Any chance of getting static IP over fiber?
Brian

Re: static IP on fiber?

Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2021 12:49 pm
by syntaxsid1
Hello,

Unfortunately due to the nature of Fiber optics we are not able to provide a static IP for now. As this demand grows and our infrastructure is fully in place in the future, we may re-evaluate this but for now we're not able to. Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause you.


Kind Regards,

Jeff M.

Re: static IP on fiber?

Posted: Mon Mar 08, 2021 8:42 pm
by frk
see if ATT small business fiber is available; static ip with that service.

Re: static IP on fiber?

Posted: Mon Mar 08, 2021 10:06 pm
by ewhac
Dane (finally) described a few months back why static IP isn't in the cards for fiber service (for now).

Based on my study of the issue, the available workarounds are:
  • Dynamic DNS, which works for many use cases,
  • A VPN subscription with a static IP option.