What Type of Fiber Cable - Transition Box to ONT?

Internet access discussion, including Fusion, IP Broadband, and Gigabit Fiber!
7 posts Page 1 of 1
by cwatson774 » Fri Mar 27, 2020 1:01 pm
Hi again everyone! I have a quick question.

In preparation for a future Sonic fiber installation, I'd like to run my own cable from where the transition box will be to my computer room (~33 feet "as the crow flies").

As such, I'd like to make sure I'm ordering the right kind of fiber cable. From what I've researched, it looks like the transition box and ONT both use a SC male fiber end, so a cable like this should work, right?

Thanks!

- Anthony
by igorru » Fri Mar 27, 2020 2:38 pm
Hi Anthony,

The Sonic installer will run the cable for you. Where ever you need it (within reason). And it's included for free.

What you have pictured there looks correct, but I'm no expert on this.

Good luck!
Igor
by joeyyung911 » Fri Mar 27, 2020 2:48 pm
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=15169
joeyyung911 wrote:Why would you need to purchase any cable?

Fiber comes off the pole, down to your house, "terminates" to an ONT, ONT to Router via RJ45. Both the fiber and ONT is Sonic-owned, so you ain't do anything with that.
Excelsior, Sonic Fiber
by Sonic Guest » Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:42 pm
Sonic used SM APC SC connectors on my parents' installation 3 years ago.
by chris.w » Sat Mar 28, 2020 3:45 pm
Hi Anthony,

Joey and Igor are right—let the installer run the fiber cable for you. It’s their job, it doesn’t cost you anything, and that way, if a technical issue develops in the fiber or the ONT, it’s Sonic’s responsibility.

Sonic expects the installation to take about 2 hours (I believe), so your job is to provide the installer with a quick and easy fiber route from the transition box to your computer room. Accessible crawl space is good. Conduit, including ENT (flexible, corrugated conduit), also works, if you have it in place.