Page 1 of 2

Bufferbloat over fiber, what to do?

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:26 am
by perotti28
Hey there, I have sonic leased over AT&T lines, and have had problems gaming here and there so after googling I came across this metric "bufferbloat", so I ran a DSL reports speedtest which accounts for this metric and it gave a score of D.
https://i.imgur.com/4Ajqo1P.png

So what can I do, or can I do anything to get this better? Thanks for any and all help!

edit: another test
https://i.imgur.com/5UkncZJ.png

I have seen threads that sonic can't do anything about this issue with the router im using because it is an at&t router, or maybe that was in the past...

Re: Bufferbloat over fiber, what to do?

Posted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 2:09 am
by bjeung
Do you have other traffic on your network while you are gaming? Bufferbloat isn't the problem if there is minimal usage of the connection. Gaming itself (other than downloading) it's really bandwidth intensive.

Re: Bufferbloat over fiber, what to do?

Posted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 9:05 pm
by perotti28
Well I did these tests with no one else home, so I'm hoping there wasn't much of any traffic other than the test.

Re: Bufferbloat over fiber, what to do?

Posted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 1:40 pm
by dtaht
sch_cake on sonic fiber: http://www.taht.net/~d/sonic_106_cake_vs_default.png

apu2 running openwrt in this case.

Re: Bufferbloat over fiber, what to do?

Posted: Thu Aug 15, 2019 2:32 pm
by danielg4
dtaht wrote:
sch_cake on sonic fiber: http://www.taht.net/~d/sonic_106_cake_vs_default.png

apu2 running openwrt in this case.

Hi, Dave! (Dave Täht is the foremost authority on bufferbloat.)
What settings for Cake did you use?

Re: Bufferbloat over fiber, what to do?

Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 7:05 pm
by perotti28
Oh, I didn't know I could run different firmware on the 5268ac, or can I? Or are you using a router/modem combo that isnt rented out?

Re: Bufferbloat over fiber, what to do?

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:30 am
by danielg4
perotti28 wrote:
Oh, I didn't know I could run different firmware on the 5268ac, or can I? Or are you using a router/modem combo that isnt rented out?

He already said apu2, not 5268ac.

Re: Bufferbloat over fiber, what to do?

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2019 8:25 pm
by perotti28
Oh sorry I didn't know what that was, and I didn't know I could use something other than what is offered by att/sonic (I have sonic over att fiber lines)

Re: Bufferbloat over fiber, what to do?

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 7:01 am
by danielg4
He also specifically said "on sonic fiber" rather than on the AT&T lines, which would not be so simple:
https://github.com/aus/pfatt
http://blog.0xpebbles.org/Bypassing-At- ... ble-limits
https://github.com/bypassrg/att

Re: Bufferbloat over fiber, what to do?

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 12:01 pm
by perotti28
Yes I know what he specifically said, which is why I kept replying saying what I said. Thanks so much for the helpful links, I really appreciate them and am already understanding what he/she was talking about. Have a good day!