Page 2 of 4

Re: Any IPv6 on Gigabit Fiber news?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 9:26 am
by aanon4
Happy 2020 everyone.

Is this the year we get IPv6?

Re: Any IPv6 on Gigabit Fiber news?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 9:59 am
by rlyeh
I certainly hope so.

Re: Any IPv6 on Gigabit Fiber news?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 1:50 pm
by dane
I hope so too! We have made some progress with the core network and with edge vendor interop, so I'm optimistic.

Re: Any IPv6 on Gigabit Fiber news?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 10:49 pm
by dylanwebster
Adding one more voice as a customer interested in native ipv6.

Re: Any IPv6 on Gigabit Fiber news?

Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2020 12:45 am
by RWCFiber
aanon4 wrote:
Happy 2020 everyone.

Is this the year we get IPv6?

I am also hoping for the same thing this year.

Re: Any IPv6 on Gigabit Fiber news?

Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:22 pm
by kgc
I will officially say that 2020 is probably the year we deploy native ipv6 on our fiber to the home networks. ;)

There has been significant behind the scenes upgrades and migrations of core network and systems infrastructure to support native v6 services. On the systems end, I'd expect our final blocking project, bringing native v6 to our recursive dns clusters, to be completed in the next couple of weeks.

Re: Any IPv6 on Gigabit Fiber news?

Posted: Sun Jan 26, 2020 8:39 pm
by swg0101
Can't wait to get rid of my 6RD tunnel... :)

Re: Any IPv6 on Gigabit Fiber news?

Posted: Tue Jan 28, 2020 6:43 am
by tomaddox
Bump . . . I would also love to see native IPv6!

Re: Any IPv6 on Gigabit Fiber news?

Posted: Wed Jan 29, 2020 8:12 pm
by zacharyjp
Very excited for this! Been quite a wait

Re: Any IPv6 on Gigabit Fiber news?

Posted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 1:23 am
by smjones
Here's hoping! Native would be best.

I was using 6RD very happily with a pfSense router on my bonded Fusion DSL X2, but I was unsuccessful getting either 6RD or a 6to4 tunnel working on my gig fiber connection. I finally gave up this week and requested a tunnel from Hurricane Electric (dba tunnelbroker.net), and had it all working in under 30 minutes.

Still, while that's great (and I do love HE), I'd really really rather have my v4 and v6 traffic both appearing to come through of the same provider...